Toyota Hiace H100 Commuter roof racks in 2021

After much searching online for appropriate roof racks for my H100 commuter I decided to go down the DIY route with some help from my father, who had some time available to fabricate some simple parts that were needed.

We decided that the bulk of the problem was to get a decent gutter mount bracket to allow for the 400mm fall needed to clear the roof.

The solution chosen was to purchase some cheap gutter mount brackets like the ones found at https://www.bosscoauto.com.au/set-of-4-universal-gutter-mount-bracket-12.5cm-15c~19249. I believe the set I purchased was very similar to this but only cost $125 delivered.

3x components to make up a gutter mount bracket from the kit. Excuse my crappy anonymising

My father fabricated some extension pieces to extend the length of the short brackets. These were created using pieces of 20x20x3 angle and 65×3 flat bar. The holes were then drilled using a drill press to accommodate the chosen mounting hardware, stainless steel M8 bolts for the extension connections, which were included in the original kit. We used zinc gal M8 bolts for mounting the cross rails.

From there it was just a matter of adding etch primer and paint to protect the surface.

Mockup of the assembly prior to welding the seams

Rail mount. For most setups inverted bolts will be more suitable. The best option may be to weld on a captive bolt post and then bolt from underneath to remove the protruding bolt heads. This setup works okay for me as I’ve only got solar panels on the roof currently, though a bit more storage wouldn’t go astray in the future.

Hope this helps, looking forward to your feedback! If anyone needs any more information I’ll try to make updates. I’ll try to get a bill of materials and costs from my father for the custom parts.

A bad picture of everything in place near Caloundra QLD

Leave a comment